In memoriam Linda Chase

I was shocked and very sad to receive the news yesterday afternoon that Linda Chase – warm, generous and vibrant presence at the heart of Manchester’s poetry world – had died in the early hours of that morning. I shall always be grateful to Linda for giving me the opportunity to read at one of her wonderful Poets and Players events, at the lovely Tai Chi hall behind her house – an evening which has led to a lot of good things in my life. And I know that she will have had the same positive effect in hundreds of other lives. Michael Schmidt has written a lovely tribute to Linda in his editorial for the next issue of PN Review (soon to go to print) and I’m certain that there will be lots of other tributes to come.

Here are a few short lines I wrote this morning, thinking of Linda.

Magnolia
for Linda

But so soon, this first
drifting of bravura pink
back to the earth.
Leaves April still
so young. Still
so green.

