Poets and Players at the Whitworth Gallery

A friend and I enjoyed a fantastic event at the Whitworth gallery in Manchester on Saturday, the latest in the Poets and Players series. We enjoyed readings by four poets (Rhiannon Cree, Tim Phillips, Rod Riesco and Jeffrey Wainwright) interspersed with intriguing, funny and at times unnerving music-and-mime interludes from Chris Davies and Loz Kaye, who work with Horse and Bamboo theatre. All in the beautiful setting of the long room looking out over the winter trees, this was a thoroughly good way to spend a Saturday afternoon. As my friend commented (re the mime), ‘It’s great to be surprised.’ Visit www.poetsandplayers.co.uk to find out more about this series of events.

Relatedly, Jeff Wainwright and I are going to be talking about his new Carcanet collection Clarity or Death! soon in the new year and the resulting interview will be appearing in PN Review. I’m really looking forward to this conversation because Jeff’s work is such a thought-provoking complex of language and ideas – it appeals to both the poet and the philosopher (or more accurately I should say to the student of both poetry and philosophy) in me.

